Honorary Committee



Prof. Horst Bredekamp (DE)

has been Professor of History of Art at Humboldt- Universität zu Berlin since 1993 and has been a Permanent Fellow of the Institute for Advanced Study since 2003. Since 2008, he has directed the DFG-Kolleg (German Research Foundation) research training group) “Picture Act and Embodiment” and member of the Leopoldina – German National Academy of Sciences.



Dr. Jens Hauser (DK)

is a Copenhagen and Paris based media-studies scholar and art curator focusing on the interactions between art and technology. He holds a dual research position at both the Department of Arts and Cultural Studies and at the Medical Museion at the University of Copenhagen, and is a distinguished affiliated faculty member of the Department of Art, Art History and Design at Michigan State University. Hauser is also a founding collaborator of the European culture channel ARTE.



Prof. Oscar Kuipers  (NL)

Board member of European Academy of Microbiology and chairman of jury for the Leeuwenhoek Medal of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW). His research group focuses on the molecular biology, physiology, genetics and functional genomics of AT-rich Gram-positive bacteria of industrial and health interest. A number of important (human) pathogens are also investigated.



Prof. Reinhard Lipowsky (DE)

Director at Max Planck Institute (MPI) of Colloids and Interfaces which he co-founded and  head of department “Theory and Bio-Systems”. He is also a member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences, honorary professor at the University of Potsdam and the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, as well as member of the International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) on “Multiscale Bio-Systems”.



Prof. Hans-Jörg Rheinberger (CH)

is honorary professor at the Institute for Philosophy and History of Science of the TU-Berlin, a member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of the Sciences and of Leopoldina – German National Academy of Sciences. He is also doctor honoris causa at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich. Since 1997 he has been a Scientific Member of the Max Planck Society and from 1997 to 2014 was Director at the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science in Berlin.



Prof. Sabine Freifrau von Schorlemer (DE)

is an international law expert, former Saxon State Minister for Higher Education, Research and the Fine Arts. Since 2009 she has been appointed UNESCO Chair in International Relations at the Faculty of Law at the Technische Universität Dresden where, since 2015, she holds the chair of Public International Law, Law of the EU and International Relations ́ department.



Prof. Lothar Willmitzer (DE)

Director and Scientific Member of the Max-Planck-Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology. Research Group Leader “Small Molecules”. He has devoted himself to researching plant metabolism since many years and is one of the founding fathers of the research field known as metabolomics.